Reading Habits

This morning I came across this tag on Beth Tinkerbells‘ blog and it was very fitting because who doesn’t love books.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
My bed is my favourite place to read when I’m at home, occasionally I wander downstairs to the sofa to snuggle with my mother but I prefer the peace and solitude of my own four walls.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Neither! I take pride in being able to remember the page number on which I finished or read up until the end of a chapter before putting my book down.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or certain number of pages?
Fitting question, it honestly depends on the book and how deeply I am into it. Also if I certain paragraph has really touched me, I may stop for a little to think and take it all in.

Do you eat or drink while reading?
I do but not consciously. I don’t have that ‘chocolate and book’ thing that most people do. If I’m hungry then I’ll eat etc.

Do you watch TV or listen to music while reading?
When I’m reading, I consider it to be ‘me’ time so I prefer it to be silent. Although when I’m home alone background noise is a must.

One book at a time or several at once?
At the moment it’s several at once but I try to do one at a time so that I can fully spend time on a book and take it. Then there are periods where I get really excited about books and read 3 to 4 at a time because I’m too eager

Reading at home or everywhere?
Preferably at home or the park but reading on my daily commute is also quite fun. You can block out the annoying people who try out take up too much space on public transport. Also it helps when you’re somebody who hates making eye contact with others!

Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Silently in my head, but I love it when people read to me! (Preferably male, any takers?)

Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?
When I was younger I used to always read the ending first! I know, what a crime. If the pages are deathly descriptive (Lolita by Vladmir Nobokov) then sometimes you have to skip, you can always go back if you miss something important.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
A loved book is one that is worn out and dog eared. In saying that no one else is allowed to crease my books!

Do you write in your books?
No! Writing in books is a definite no no, I write out quotes and thoughts into my journal, so I always document things that are important.

I would quite like to see some of your responses, I specially tag Holly!
M x

2 thoughts on “Reading Habits

Leave a comment